Victorian manuscripts from the Berg Collection of The New York Public Library.
The Berg Collection is recognised as one of the finest literary research collections in the world, and the Victorian holdings are the undisputed jewel in its crown.
A broad range of authors from across the nineteenth century make this an essential research tool for all scholars and students researching Victorian literature.
Most of these unique manuscripts are unavailable in any medium elsewhere. They are supplemented by some rare printed materials, including early editions annotated by the authors. Each author collection is included in its entirety, allowing users to browse and search the manuscripts as they would in the Berg Reading Room. Authors represented in this collection include:
Elizabeth Barrett Browning
Dante Gabriel Rossetti
William Makepeace Thackeray
Complete images of 190 manuscripts of 17th and 18th century verse held in the Brotherton Collection at the University of Leeds.
The manuscripts range from contemporary copies of poems by writers like Colvil, Dryden, Fairfax and Pope to popular tags and epitaphs. Many of the manuscripts are miscellanies and commonplace books which have never previously been indexed. One example is Lady Hester Pulter's Poems breathed forth by the nobel Hadassas - a collection of poetry, c.1645-1665, comprising a single volume and several loose sheets, predominantly in a scribal hand with insertions and revisions in two other hands, one perhaps autograph. It also includes part of a novel, The Unfortunate Florinda. Another example is a poetical commonplace book, in several hands, c.1740-1804, partly compiled by Eliza Marriott.
Particularly noteworthy for illustrations are Lt 50, William Tipping’s collection of religious poetry and accompanying pasted woodcuts; Lt 76, Translations from Ovid’s Metamorphoses; and Lt 68, Patrick Carey’s love poetry Ballades dedicated to the Lady Victoria
Part of the Literature Criticism Online resource. Critical commentary and information on more than 2,900 authors now living or who died after 12/31/59. Includes essays on special topics and literature genres.
Color digital images of rare books, ephemera, maps and other materials relating to 18th, 19th and early 20th century London.
Material found in the resource includes:
Street ephemera – posters, advertising, playbills, ballads and broadsides
A complete collection of Tallis’ Street Views
Swell’s guides to London prostitution, gambling and drinking dens
Tourist guides and topography
Manuscripts of George Gissing
There is a strong emphasis on rare or unique material, particularly in the range of ephemera and street literature available. There is also an emphasis on visual material.
The documents are drawn from the holdings of the Lilly Library, the rare books, manuscripts, and special collections library of the Indiana University Libraries, Bloomington.
Video-based instruction for business, creative and technology skills, free to MTSU students, faculty, and staff. Create a personal account using instructions at https://www.mtsu.edu/itd/lynda.php. Provided by MTSU.
World Politics Review offers original news and analysis on foreign policy, national security, and international affairs.
Walker Library is a selective depository library. Documents can be found in our catalog. Please ask for assistance with documents at the Reference Desk.
2017, Middle Tennessee State University, 1301 East Main Street, Murfreesboro, TN 37132-0001 USA +1-615-898-2300
Middle Tennessee State University, in its educational programs and activities involving students and employees, does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, creed, ethnic or national origin, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity/expression, disability, age (as applicable), status as a covered veteran or genetic information. For more information see Middle Tennessee State University. | Nondiscrimination Policy