Skip to main content

Newspapers: Historical Newspapers

Newspapers on Microfilm

Walker Library holds extensive collections of newspapers on microfilm. The collections are arranged by title and by subject.

All Newspapers on Microfilm

Historical newspapers by Title

Black Newspapers

The Civil War 

Early American News

The microfilm collection is located on the second floor, arranged by reel numbers. Assistance in finding, loading and using microfilm is available all hours the library is open.

Campus Connections: Sidelines

Sidelines Digital Collection

(1938 - 2012)
 

Using Newspapers on Microfilm

Finding Newspapers on Microfilm
Most of the Library's historical newspapers are avilable on microfilm and are housed in
the Microtext Collection in the Digital Media Studio the 2nd Floor of Walker Library.
To locate specific newspapers on microfilm in our collection, search the Library Catalog.

Locating Specific Articles
With the exception of some major dailies, few newspapers available on microfilm are indexed.  Without indexing, you may need to scan newspapers by date to find a specific article.  Check the Library Catalog to see if a specific newspaper index is available at the Library. 

Microfilm Equipment
Microfilm readers that both print and scan are available in the Microtext Collection

.

Image from University of Chicago Photographic Archive, apf2-03320, Special Collections Research Center, University of Chicago Library

Historical Newspaper Databases

Journal Locator

If you have a particular newspaper, journal or magazine you would like to search, use the Journal Locator to locate the proper database. 

Find Library Online Newspaper Access

TN eCampus       Tennessee Transfer Pathway