This is the "Home" page of the "SW 3200: Cultural Diversity" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MTSU home MTSU Home MTSU Library Home Library home MTSU People Directory page MTSU FAQ MTSU A to Z Pipeline MTSU Email

SW 3200: Cultural Diversity   Tags: cultural diversity, culture, deaf, immigrants, lgbt, multicultural, social work  

Last Updated: Jun 30, 2015 URL: http://libraryguides.mtsu.edu/content.php?pid=455935 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books at Walker library

Cover Art
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America - Gale Editors (Editor)
ISBN: 9780787675509
Publication Date: 2014-04-18

Cover Art
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of World Popular Culture - Gary Hoppenstand (Editor-In-Chief); Lynn Bartholomew; Gerd Bayer; John F. Bratzel; Vinay Dharwadker; Dennis V. Hickey; Michael K. Schoenecke
Call Number: Reference - Walker Library - 1st Floor 306.03 G85h v.6
ISBN: 9780313332555
Publication Date: 2007-06-01

Cover Art
Countries and Their Cultures - Melvin Ember (Editor); Carol R. Ember (Editor)
Call Number: Reference - Walker Library - 1st Floor 306.03 C83e
ISBN: 0028649508
Publication Date: 2001-05-23

The Timetables of African-American History - Sharon Harley
Call Number: http://Reference - Walker Library - 1st Floor 973.0496 H22t
ISBN: 0671795244
Publication Date: 1995-02-07

Cover Art
Voices of Multicultural America - Deborah Gillan Straub (Editor)
Call Number: Reference - Walker Library - 1st Floor 815.008 V87
ISBN: 0810393786
Publication Date: 1995-10-01

Cover Art
Africana : the encyclopedia of the African and African American experience - Anthony Appiah; Henry Louis Gates (Editor)
Call Number: Reference - Walker Library - 1st Floor 960.03 Af83, 5 Volumes
ISBN: 0195170555
Publication Date: 2005-04-07

Cover Art
Contemporary Ethnic Geographies in America - Ines M. Miyares; Christopher A. Airriess
Call Number: Walker Library - 2nd Floor 305.8 C76m
ISBN: 0742537722
Publication Date: 2006-10-19

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History - Jack Salzman (Editor); David L. Smith (Editor); Cornel West (Editor)
Call Number: 973.0496 En19 Reference 1st Floor
ISBN: 0028973453
Publication Date: 1995-12-01

Cover Art
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States - Suzanne Oboler (Editor); Deena J. González (Editor)
Call Number: Reference - Walker Library - 1st Floor 973.0468 Ox2
ISBN: 0195156005
Publication Date: 2005-08-25

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Modern Ethnic Conflicts - Joseph R. Rudolph (Editor)
Call Number: Reference - Walker Library - 1st Floor 305.8003 En19r
ISBN: 0313313814
Publication Date: 2003-04-30

Cover Art
Multiculturalism in the United States - John D. Buenker (Editor); Lorman A. Ratner (Editor)
Call Number: Reference - Walker Library - 1st Floor 305.8 M91b 2005
ISBN: 0313324042
Publication Date: 2005-03-01

Cover Art
Civil Rights in America - Jay A. Sigler
Call Number: Reference - Walker Library - 1st Floor 323.0973 Si25c
ISBN: 078760612X
Publication Date: 1998-05-01

American Ethnic Literatures - David R. Peck
Call Number: Reference - Walker Library - 1st Floor 810.992 P33a
ISBN: 0893566845
Publication Date: 1992-10-01
Cites literary works by members of four ethnic groups in the US, the important relevant scholarship, and histories of the four groups that provide context for the writings.

The Encyclopedia of World Cultures - David Levinson (Editor); Timothy J. O'Leary (Editor)
Call Number: Reference - Walker Library - 1st Floor 306 En19
ISBN: 0816118086
Publication Date: 1991-03-01

Cover Art
Multicultural America - Ronald H. Bayor (Editor)
Call Number: Reference - Walker Library - 1st Floor 305.800973 M91b
ISBN: 9780313357862
Publication Date: 2011-07-01
Great resource. For differenct ethnic groups gives background, chronology, immigration patterns, cultural assimilation, demographic profile, family life, etc.

 

Library Search

JEWL SearchAdvanced Search | Help


 

Search more databases with Proquest

 

Journal of Ethnic and cultural diversity in social work

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Find info about the immigrant's life in the "mother" country

      For general information about where your cultural/ethnic group originated, look in some of these country guides for quick information about history, culture, family, education, etc.

 

Undocumented Americans

 

Helpful books in Walker Library

Cover Art
The Cambridge World History of Food - Kenneth F. Kiple (Editor); Kriemhild Conee Ornelas (Editor)
Call Number: Reference - Walker Library - 1st Floor 641.3 C14k
ISBN: 052140214X
Publication Date: 1999-07-01

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender
Call Number: Reference - Walker Library - 1st Floor 306.703 En1m
ISBN: 9780028659602
Publication Date: 2007-08-23

Cover Art
Immigration - Thomas Cieslik; David Felsen; Akis Kalaitzidis
ISBN: 9780313349102
Publication Date: 2008-11-30


Immigration and multiculturalism: essential primary sources - K. Lee Lerner, Brenda Wilmoth Lerner, and Adrienne Wilmoth Lerner, editors.
ISBN: 9781414412658
Publication Date: 2006
Contains speeches, legislation, magazine and newspaper articles, essays, memoirs, letters, interviews, novels, songs, and works of art - as well as overview information that places each document in context.


Opposing viewpoints

 

Cultural Diversity info

Insert Mexican Americans, or African Americans, or Asian Americans into the search box for related articles.

 

More books

Cover Art
Multicultural Approaches to Health and Wellness in America - Regan A. R. Gurung (Editor)
Call Number: Walker Library - 2nd Floor 362.1 M9192
ISBN: 9781440803499
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Led by a UCLA-trained health psychologist, a team of experts describes non-traditional treatments that are quickly becoming more common in Western society, documenting cultural variations in health and sickness practices to underscore the diversity among human society.

Cover Art
The Oxford Handbook of Ethnicity, Crime, and Immigration - Sandra M. Bucerius (Editor); Michael Tonry (Editor)
Call Number: Walker Library - 2nd Floor 364.3 Ox26
ISBN: 9780199859016
Publication Date: 2013-12-31
Social tensions between majority and minority populations often center on claims that minorities are largely responsible for crime and disorder. Members of some disadvantaged groups in all developed countries, sometimes long-standing residents and other times recent immigrants, experience unwarranted disparities in their dealings with the criminal justice system

Cover Art
Education and Immigration - Kimberly Goyette; Grace Kao; Elizabeth Vaquera
Call Number: Walker Library - 2nd Floor 371.826912 K14e
ISBN: 9780745648323
Publication Date: 2013-02-18
Education is a crucially important social institution, closely correlated with wealth, occupational prestige, psychological well-being, and health outcomes. Moreover, for children of immigrants - who account for almost one in four school-aged children in the U.S. - it is the primary means through which they become incorporated into American society.

 

Ask A Librarian


Click to open chat box in a new window.

Other Contact Options

Call: 615-898-2817

Visit the Reference Desk: 1st floor

Email a Librarian

Issues and Controversies

CQ Researcher is a magazine that puiblishes weekly reports on issues and controversies in the United States and worldwide. The reports are lengthy and objective with background info and statistics. Some of the reports are on issues that relate to cultural diversity.

Gay Marriage

Gay Rights

Changing Demographics

Women's Rights

Immigration Conflict

Gendercide Crisis

Race and Ethnicity

 

 

 

Statistics on immigration

To search for statistics on an ethnic or cultural group, go to google and do a search.....I am going to use Native Americans as an example.....Native Americans Statistics site: gov.......  This search should give you lots of statistics from the government.

Research Coach

Having problems finding or using Library Resources?

Sign up for a session with the Research Coach.

      

    2014 Middle Tennessee State University, a Tennessee Board of Regents institution, 1301 East Main Street, Murfreesboro, TN 37132-0001 USA +1.615.898.2300


    Middle Tennessee State University, in its educational programs and activities involving students and employees, does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, religion, or age. Furthermore, the university does not discriminate against veterans or individuals with disabilities.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip