Creating Clips (Alexander St. Press)
ImagesVideoMusic
This is the "Finding Media at Walker Library" page of the "Media Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MTSU home MTSU Home MTSU Library Home Library home MTSU People Directory page MTSU FAQ MTSU A to Z Pipeline MTSU Email

Media Resources   Tags: audio, audiobooks, documentaries, film video, media, streaming video  

Describes the media collection at Walker library.
Last Updated: Nov 7, 2014 URL: http://libraryguides.mtsu.edu/mediaresources Print Guide RSS Updates

Finding Media at Walker Library Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Selected Videos from the Collection

Money, Power, and the Markets

Cover Art
Money for nothing :inside the Federal Reserve - Liberty Street Films
Call Number: DVD-139
Publication Date: 2013
Economists, financial historians, investsors and traders discuss the future of the Federal Reserve.

Cover Art
Money, power and Wall Street - Frontline / RAINmedia and Kirk Documentary Group
Call Number: B03492R
ISBN: 9781608837168
Publication Date: 2012
In a special 4-hour investigation, Frontline tells the inside story of the struggles to rescue and repair a shattered economy, exploring key decisions, missed opportunities, and the unprecedented and uneasy partnership between government leaders and titans of finance that affects the fortunes of millions of people around the world.

Cover Art
The flaw: markets, money, mortgages and the great American meltdown - Bullfrog Films
Call Number: B03185a
Publication Date: 2010
Inspired by former U.S. Fed Chairman Alan Greenspan's acknowledgment that he'd found a flaw in his model of how the world worked, 'The flaw' attempts to explain the underlying causes of the financial crisis in more depth than any documentary to date. The film tells the story of the credit bubble that caused the financial crash, and presents an original and compelling account of the toxic combination of forces that nearly destroyed the world economy.

Cover Art
Boom and bust - PBS
Call Number: B01971a
Publication Date: 2009
Provides an historical background on global finance's big picture. Presenter Niall Ferguson, author of the book on which the program is based, speaks with leading experts, including financier George Soros, Federal Reserve chairman Paul Volker and more.

 

Find Videos and Audiobooks in the Library

VHS, DVDs, Streaming Videos, and Audiobooks

Search the Media Collection: Videos and audiobooks may be checked out from the circulation desk on the 1st floor. Items are not currently on public display. Please ask a circulation staff member for assistance retrieving an item.

 

 

Group Viewing

Need a space where a group can watch a digital video or movie together? Check out our Library Spaces page for several possibilities. Groups of 4-8 may use a Group Study room, all of which are equipped with computers. Larger groups may reserve one of the Meeting Places.  VHS tapes may be viewed in room 114D. Viewings should be academically-related and must not exceed reasonable noise levels.

For individual viewing, check out a pair of headphones from the Technology Services Desk and grab any available computer.

 

Find Videos Using the Library Catalog.

Finding a Video

Title /Keyword Search

Click  Library Catalog under the search box on the Library Home Page.

1. If you know the exact title, choose Title from the Any Field box to the left.    

2.  If unsure of the exact title, leave Any Field as the default.                                                                            

3.  Enter the title or keywords in the search box. i.e money driven medicine

4. In the Location box, highlight Instructional Media Resources (LRC).

5. Click Submit. 

6.  The search results appear.  If you searched an exact title, the item should be displayed at the top. Keyword searches may require scrolling through the results to find the title you wanted. 

For Faculty: How to Book a Media Item for use in the classroom. 

1.  Use the  Library Catalog box to find the desired item.  

2. Click on the Book This Material link to book media online. 

3. Enter your Pipeline User Name and Password.  Click Login

4. Select a location.  Choose Media Library Walker Library Circulation Desk

5. Available dates appear in green on the calendar. Click Next to move to a different month.  

6. Select the  Month, Day, and Year you wish to use the film. 

7. Click Submit to process the request.   Or Cancel if you change your mind. 

8. The item(s) will be available at the Circulation Desk on the first floor for pick up.

For more detailed instrucitons, see the Booking Media tab.

 

Find Audio Materials Using the Library Catalog.

Audio materials include books on cd (call no. G)  and audiocassettes (call no. A).  Both are considered audiobooks. Since the most recent items display first, you should not see audiocassette titles, unless the title you want is ONLY available in that format.  i.e. atlantis found. 

Finding a Specific Audiobook (Title)

1.  If you know the exact title, change Keyword from the pulldown menu to Title.  

2.  Enter the desired title words into the search box.  i.e  girl with the dragon tattoo  

3.  Below, the search boxes, using the arrows, change View Entire Collection  to Media Library (LRC).

4. Click Submit

5. If you searched an exact title,  the item should be displayed at the top with the:

LOCATION                                                                                CALL No.                     STATUS

Media Library - Walker Library - Circulation Desk       G00300a           ON SHELF/Date Due

6.  Take  the call number information to the Circulation Desk on the first floor.  

7  A staff member will retrieve the item for you and check it out. 

Finding audiobooks in General (Keyword)

1. Leave Any Field as the default in the pulldown menu.   

2.  Enter the desired title words into the search box:  i.e.  audiobooks mystery

4.  Below, the search boxes, using the arrows, change View Entire Collection  to Media Library (LRC).

5. Click Submit

6  The results will include any audiobooks in this particular genre in the collection.

7.  Select the title you want and take the  call number to the Circulation Desk on the first floor. 

7.  A staff member will retrieve the book and check it out to you.

Note:  You may also do a very general search like audiobooks which retrieves all audiobooks in the collection (hopefully). 

 

 

Library Search

JEWL SearchAdvanced Search | Help


 

Find Video Materials with the New Search Box

The EBSCO Discovery Search Box can be used to find many types of materials.  These directions will show you how to find dvds, vhs tapes, held in the Media Collection of Walker Library.

Finding a  Specific Video

1.  Type the desired title in the search box.  i.e. "money driven medicine".

2.  Change "All" to "videos" and press "Go".

3.  "money driven medicine" shows up first in the results.

4. Notice the information for finding the title:   Location Media Library - Walker Library - Circulation Desk, Call. No.  B02102a  Availability ON SHELF display. 

5.  Take the call number (B02102a) to the Circulation Desk on the first floor. A staff member will retrieve the video and check it out to you.

For Faculty: How to Book this Material using the EDS Search Box.

1. If you are on the search results page, click Check Library Availability link. 

2. The catalog record comes up and Book This Material is available. 

3. Click on Book This Material to reserve your film for use in the classroom.  For more detailed instructions, please see the Reserves/Booking Module page. 

 

Find Audio Materials with the New Search Box

The EBSCO Discovery Search Box can be used to find many types of materials.  These directions will show you how to find audiobooks in the Media Collection of Walker Library.

Finding Audiobooks (Title)

1.  Type in the desired title.  i.e. "the girl with the dragon tattoo".

2.  Change "All" to "audio" and press "Go".

3.  "The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo" shows up at the top.  

4.  Information for  location, call no. and availability will display. i.e. Availability: On the shelf 

Finding Audiobooks (Keywords)

Follow the same directions above except enter keywords  i.e.  audiobooks fiction for a broader search of what's available. Or try audiobooks psychology, audiobooks mystery  for various genre types.  If you'd like to see what's available in audiobook format with no genre specified,  type audiobooks. 

Note:  Make sure audio is selected from the pull down menu. Step 2. 

 

My Profile

Profile Image
Jean Reese
Contact Info
615-898-2725
Send Email
 

Selected Audiobooks from the Collection

Legal Thrillers

Cover Art
Dirty Blonde - Lisa Scottoline; Barbara Rosenblat (Read by)
Call Number: G00108a
ISBN: 9780060898175
Publication Date: 2006-03-14
Cate Fante is strong and smart, but when she gets appointment a federal judge, even she wonders if she can do the job justice. A high profile case in her courtroom explodes into a shocking murder-suicide, and it reveals her hidden, dark, double life. Her troubles are only beginning. An enemy no one anticipated sends her running for her life, embarking on a journey that begins in the mystery of her own childhood. Cate will have to fight her way back to the truth, or die trying.

Cover Art
The Confession - John Grisham; Dylan Baker (Read by); Scott Sowers (Read by)
Call Number: G00438a
ISBN: 9780739376195
Publication Date: 2010-10-26
Nine years ago, Travis Boyette raped and murdered a popular high school student in Sloan Texas. To his amazement, Donte Drumm, the school's football star, was wrongly convicted of his heinous crimes and sent to death row. Now, Travis, who has an inoperable brain tumor and is stricken with guilt, decides to confess in a bid to save Donte, who has just four days before his execution.

Cover Art
The Fifth Witness - Michael Connelly; Peter Giles (Read by)
Call Number: G00442a
ISBN: 9781600247224
Publication Date: 2011-04-05
Mickey Haller has fallen on tough times. He expands his business into foreclosure defense, only to see one of his clients accused of killing the banker she blames for trying to take away her home. Mickey puts his team into high gear to exonerate Lisa Trammel, even though the evidence and his own suspicions tell him his client is guilty. Soon after he learns that the victim had black market dealings of his own, Haller is assaulted, too, and he's certain he's on the right trail.

Cover Art
Beach Road - Peter de Jonge; James Patterson (Editor, Read by); Billy Baldwin (Read by)
Call Number: G00093aA struggling Montauk lawyer agrees to defend a local man accused of murdering several flashy
ISBN: 9781594832253
Publication Date: 2006-05-01
A struggling Montauk lawyer agrees to defend a local man accused of murdering several flashy Hamptons types and finds himself in the midst of another trial of the century.

Cover Art
The Litigators - John Grisham; Dennis Boutsikaris (Read by)
Call Number: G00488a
ISBN: 9780307943194
Publication Date: 2011-10-25
With their new associate on board, Finley & Figg is ready to tackle a really big case, a case that could make the partners rich without requiring them to actually practice much law. An extremely popular drug, Krayoxx, the number one cholesterol reducer for the dangerously overweight, produced by Varrick Labs, a giant pharmaceutical company with annual sales of $25 billion, has recently come under fire after several patients taking it have suffered heart attacks. Wally Figg smells money.

 

Ask A Librarian


Click to open chat box in a new window.

Other Contact Options

Call: 615-898-2817

Visit the Reference Desk: 1st floor

Email a Librarian

2014 Middle Tennessee State University, a Tennessee Board of Regents institution, 1301 East Main Street, Murfreesboro, TN 37132-0001 USA +1.615.898.2300


Middle Tennessee State University, in its educational programs and activities involving students and employees, does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, religion, or age. Furthermore, the university does not discriminate against veterans or individuals with disabilities.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip