Creating Clips (Alexander St. Press)
ImagesVideoMusic
This is the "Finding Media at Walker Library" page of the "Media Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MTSU home MTSU Home MTSU Library Home Library home MTSU People Directory page MTSU FAQ MTSU A to Z Pipeline MTSU Email

Media Resources   Tags: audio, audiobooks, documentaries, film video, kanopy, media, streaming video  

Describes the media collection at Walker library.
Last Updated: Mar 31, 2015 URL: http://libraryguides.mtsu.edu/mediaresources Print Guide RSS Updates

Finding Media at Walker Library Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Selected Videos from the Collection

Recent Media Acquisitions

Cover Art
Conducting Hope - Margie Friedman
Call Number: DVD-274
Publication Date: 2013
Documentary about the East Hill Singers, which is the only men's prison choir in the United States to perform outside prison walls. The choir is composed in part by members of the community as well as former inmates.

Cover Art
Citizen Koch - Carl Deal & Tia Lessin
Call Number: DVD-259
Publication Date: 2014
In this searing expose on the state of democracy in America and the fracturing of the Republican Party, directors Carl Deal and Tia Lessin follow the money behind the rise of the Tea Party. Alternately terrifying and funny, documentary is an essential and powerful portrait of our political times.

Cover Art
Frozen - Disney
Call Number: DVD-271
Publication Date: 2014
"Fearless optimist Anna sets off on an epic journey--teaming up with rugged mountain man Kristoff and his loyal reindeer Sven--to find her sister Elsa, whose icy powers have trapped the kingdom of Arendelle in eternal winter.

Cover Art
In the Path of a Killer Volcano - WGBH Boston Video
Call Number: DVD-260
ISBN: 9781593755690
Publication Date: 2006
Program waits with a group of geologists as they monitor the signs from Mount Pinatubo and examines the methods volcanologists use to make their predictions. Then, stick around with the scientists who remain behind when the Philippines' Mo

Cover Art
Robert Vavra's Such is the Real Nature of Horses - Equus Productions
Call Number: DVD-272
ISBN: 9780971132924
Publication Date: 2007
Documentary on the behavior of horses in their natural environment.

 

Find Videos and Audiobooks in the Library

VHS, DVDs, Streaming Videos, and Audiobooks

Search the Media Collection: Videos and audiobooks may be checked out from the circulation desk on the 1st floor. Items are not currently on public display. Please ask a circulation staff member for assistance retrieving an item.

 

 

Group Viewing

Need a space where a group can watch a digital video or movie together? Check out our Library Spaces page for several possibilities. Groups of 4-8 may use a Group Study room, all of which are equipped with computers. Larger groups may reserve one of the Meeting Places.  VHS tapes may be viewed in room 114D. Viewings should be academically-related and must not exceed reasonable noise levels.

For individual viewing, check out a pair of headphones from the Technology Services Desk and grab any available computer.

 

Find Videos Using the Library Catalog.

Finding a Video

Title /Keyword Search

Click  Library Catalog under the search box on the Library Home Page.

1. If you know the exact title, choose Title from the Any Field box to the left.    

2.  If unsure of the exact title, leave Any Field as the default.                                                                            

3.  Enter the title or keywords in the search box. i.e money driven medicine

4. In the Location box, highlight Instructional Media Resources (LRC).

5. Click Submit. 

6.  The search results appear.  If you searched an exact title, the item should be displayed at the top. Keyword searches may require scrolling through the results to find the title you wanted. 

For Faculty: How to Book a Media Item for use in the classroom. 

1.  Use the  Library Catalog box to find the desired item.  

2. Click on the Book This Material link to book media online. 

3. Enter your Pipeline User Name and Password.  Click Login

4. Select a location.  Choose Media Library Walker Library Circulation Desk

5. Available dates appear in green on the calendar. Click Next to move to a different month.  

6. Select the  Month, Day, and Year you wish to use the film. 

7. Click Submit to process the request.   Or Cancel if you change your mind. 

8. The item(s) will be available at the Circulation Desk on the first floor for pick up.

For more detailed instrucitons, see the Booking Media tab.

 

Find Audio Materials Using the Library Catalog.

Audio materials include books on cd (call no. G)  and audiocassettes (call no. A).  Both are considered audiobooks. Since the most recent items display first, you should not see audiocassette titles, unless the title you want is ONLY available in that format.  i.e. atlantis found. 

Finding a Specific Audiobook (Title)

1.  If you know the exact title, change Keyword from the pulldown menu to Title.  

2.  Enter the desired title words into the search box.  i.e  girl with the dragon tattoo  

3.  Below, the search boxes, using the arrows, change View Entire Collection  to Media Library (LRC).

4. Click Submit

5. If you searched an exact title,  the item should be displayed at the top with the:

LOCATION                                                                                CALL No.                     STATUS

Media Library - Walker Library - Circulation Desk       G00300a           ON SHELF/Date Due

6.  Take  the call number information to the Circulation Desk on the first floor.  

7  A staff member will retrieve the item for you and check it out. 

Finding audiobooks in General (Keyword)

1. Leave Any Field as the default in the pulldown menu.   

2.  Enter the desired title words into the search box:  i.e.  audiobooks mystery

4.  Below, the search boxes, using the arrows, change View Entire Collection  to Media Library (LRC).

5. Click Submit

6  The results will include any audiobooks in this particular genre in the collection.

7.  Select the title you want and take the  call number to the Circulation Desk on the first floor. 

7.  A staff member will retrieve the book and check it out to you.

Note:  You may also do a very general search like audiobooks which retrieves all audiobooks in the collection (hopefully).  We are no longer purchasing audiobooks for the collection.

 

 

Library Search

JEWL SearchAdvanced Search | Help


 

Find Video Materials with the New Search Box

The EBSCO Discovery Search Box can be used to find many types of materials.  These directions will show you how to find dvds, vhs tapes, held in the Media Collection of Walker Library.

Finding a  Specific Video

1.  Type the desired title in the search box.  i.e. "money driven medicine".

2.  Change "All" to "videos" and press "Go".

3.  "money driven medicine" shows up first in the results.

4. Notice the information for finding the title:   Location Media Library - Walker Library - Circulation Desk, Call. No.  B02102a  Availability ON SHELF display. 

5.  Take the call number (B02102a) to the Circulation Desk on the first floor. A staff member will retrieve the video and check it out to you.

For Faculty: How to Book this Material using the EDS Search Box.

1. If you are on the search results page, click Check Library Availability link. 

2. The catalog record comes up and Book This Material is available. 

3. Click on Book This Material to reserve your film for use in the classroom.  For more detailed instructions, please see the Reserves/Booking Module page. 

 

Find Audio Materials with the New Search Box

The EBSCO Discovery Search Box can be used to find many types of materials.  These directions will show you how to find audiobooks in the Media Collection of Walker Library.

Finding Audiobooks (Title)

1.  Type in the desired title.  i.e. "the girl with the dragon tattoo".

2.  Change "All" to "audio" and press "Go".

3.  "The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo" shows up at the top.  

4.  Information for  location, call no. and availability will display. i.e. Availability: On the shelf 

Finding Audiobooks (Keywords)

Follow the same directions above except enter keywords  i.e.  audiobooks fiction for a broader search of what's available. Or try audiobooks psychology, audiobooks mystery  for various genre types.  If you'd like to see what's available in audiobook format with no genre specified,  type audiobooks. 

Note:  Make sure audio is selected from the pull down menu. Step 2. 

 

My Profile

Profile Image
Jean Reese
Contact Info
615-898-2725
Send Email
 

Selected Audiobooks from the Collection

Biographical Audiobooks

Cover Art
Jackie as Editor - Greg Lawrence; Bernadette Dunne (Read by)
Call Number: G00445a
ISBN: 9781441787200
Publication Date: 2011
In the latter part of her life, Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis became heavily involved in books as both an editor and a writer. Here, Greg Lawrence chronicles Jackie's literary career, from serving as an editor for Viking and Doubleday to publishing several biographies and memoirs

Cover Art
Steve Jobs - Walter Isaacson (Introduction by); Dylan Baker (Read by)
Call Number: G00480a
ISBN: 9781442346277
Publication Date: 2011
Based on more than forty interviews with Jobs conducted over two years, as well as interviews with more than a hundred family members, friends, adversaries, competitors, and colleagues, the author has written a riveting story of the roller-coaster life and searingly intense personality of a creative entrepreneur whose passion for perfection and ferocious drive revolutionized six industries: personal computers, animated movies, music, phones, tablet computing, and digital publishing

Cover Art
A Stolen Life - Jaycee Dugard (Read by)
Call Number: JG00461a
ISBN: 9781442344983
Publication Date: 2011
The memoir of Jaycee Dugard who was kidnapped on June 10, 1991, when she was 11 years old, and was missing for over 18 years before her reappearance in 2009.

Cover Art
Unbroken - Laura Hillenbrand; Edward Herrmann (Read by)
Call Number: G00433a
ISBN: 9780739319697
Publication Date: 2010
n 1943, while World War II raged on in the Pacific Theater, Lieutenant Louis Zamperini was the only survivor of a deadly plane crash in the middle of the ocean. What lay before him was a physical gauntlet unlike anything he had encountered before: thousands of miles of open ocean, a small raft, and no food or water.

Cover Art
Wild - Cheryl Strayed; Bernadette Dunne (Read by)
Call Number: G00489a
ISBN: 9780307970299
Publication Date: 2012
A powerful, blazingly honest, inspiring memoir: the story of a 1,100 mile solo hike that broke down a young woman reeling from catastrophe--and built her back up again.

 

Ask A Librarian


Click to open chat box in a new window.

Other Contact Options

Call: 615-898-2817

Visit the Reference Desk: 1st floor

Email a Librarian

2014 Middle Tennessee State University, a Tennessee Board of Regents institution, 1301 East Main Street, Murfreesboro, TN 37132-0001 USA +1.615.898.2300


Middle Tennessee State University, in its educational programs and activities involving students and employees, does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, religion, or age. Furthermore, the university does not discriminate against veterans or individuals with disabilities.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip