Last Updated: Feb 5, 2015
Sources for text-only copies of news articles.
1979-present. News and information from over 10,000 international sources in 22 languages. Includes financial data on public companies with graphs and charts as well as radio and television transcripts from several news organizations. Includes fulltext of The Wall Street Journal.
- Facts on File: World News Digest
Compiles newspaper reporting from 1940 to the present.
- InfoTrac Newsstand
Full text articles from national, international, state and local newspapers, 1980 to present.
- LexisNexis: All News Search
Click "advanced options" to refine your search by date or source type.
- Library PressDisplay (Digital Newspapers)
Full digital replicas of over 2,000 newspapers and magazines from 100 countries in 56 languages (current editions and 60-day archives). Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
- National Newspaper Index
Provides indexing to five major national newspapers from 1996 to approximately two weeks before the present. Does not provide full-text.
- Newsbank Access World News
This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. Content is easily searched and sorted through an intuitive, map-based interface.
- 19th Century Masterfile
Includes four newspapers from the 19th century plus indexes to other papers.
- African American Newspapers (Accessible Archives)
19th century African American newspapers in full-text searchable form with page images.
- Afro-American newspaper archives
This collection of historic African-American newspapers will be expanded over time. Coverage is primarily 20th century.
- Chronicling America
Search and read newspaper pages from 1900-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
- Google Newspaper Archive
Digital scans of historical newspapers from around the world.
- Historical Atlanta Constitution
Fulltext access to Atlanta Constitution Newspaper, 1868-1945.
- Historical Chicago Defender
Fulltext access to the Chicago Defender newspaper, 1910-1975.
- Historical New York Amsterdam News
Fulltext access to the New York Amsterdam News, 1922-1993.
- Historical New York Times
Fulltext access to The New York Times, 1851-2010.
- Historical Washington Post
Fulltext access to Washington Post, 1877-1997.
- Historical Norfolk Journal and Guide (1923- 2003)
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
- ProQuest Direct News & Newspapers
Direct link to search all 5 of the historical newspapers listed above. Also includes links to current newspapers: The Tennessean, Daily News Journal, Ethnic News Watch.